ICSE Political Science

Question 1

Name any two criteria on which J.A.R. Marriott based his classification of government. 


The criteria are: geographical basis - Unitary and Federal Constitutional - rigid and flexible. 

Question 2

What is meant by a limited government in a liberal democracy? 


Limited government is a concept in political philosophy in which governmental power is restricted by law, usually in a written constitution. A limited government is a system in which the primary leaders have very little governing powers over the decisions and laws that are created without approval from other branches or leaders within the government.

Question 3

Why is the statement 'the king can do no wrong' an accepted principle of the British parliamentary system? 


The reasons are:

i. Firstly, it means that the King is above law and cannot be tried in any court of England for any wrongful act done by him. He enjoys complete personal immunity from the jurisdiction of the ordinary courts of law. For example, if the King commits any crime, there is no process known to English law by which he can be brought to trial.

ii. Secondly, the maxim means that the King is above all the responsibility for every act performed in his name. For every act of the British government performed in the name of the king, it is the ministers who are responsible to Parliament. As a matter of fact, every order issued by the King is countersigned by the minister-in-charge who is politically responsible to the Parliament and legally responsible to the courts of law. Thus, the King can do nothing wrong or right, of a discretionary nature and having legal effect.

Question 4

Why should a good constitution be neither too rigid nor too flexible? 


Because a rigid constitution makes it difficult to make necessary changes impossible whereas a flexible constitution remains vulnerable to political instability. 

Question 5

Give an example of the usage of single transferable vote system with reference to India. 


Election of the Members of Rajya Sabha by the State Assemblies.